365-12 Resilience

Resilience.

To that I say – I am the poster child.

More than half of my life has been spent being resilient.

In fact, the very first word out of my BFF’s mouth when I announced the news of my most recent divorce (#3- don’t judge) was, ‘If anyone is resilient, it’s you.’

ISTG

Call her and ask her.

This word carries with it a heavy hitting connotation. Because NOT everyone gets to wear the title and sport this heavy weight buckle.

Resilient means that no matter the storm- you can weather it. The whole entire world might flip upside down- but still- you will survive it. And while the wind might howl at your door, you are locked safe inside. Knowing. You were meant to survive. I never doubted it.

I did survive.

It wasn’t of my own doing though. I held fast to the one who held on to me. The Bible tells us in Isaiah 41:10 that no matter what comes- God has us. He held me, literally, in his righteous-right-hand.

Countless times when I was fearful- it was this verse that guided me to fear not. When I was anxious and believing the lies the evil one would plant in my head- my soul rested in ‘I AM your God.’ I stood on His promise, ‘I will strengthen you.’ I slept under his watch with ‘I will help you.’ And I claimed victory with ‘I will uphold you with my victorious right hand.’

Resilient.

That’s me.

Fearless. Strong and brave. Survivor.

Resiliently yours,

Nadine Bodine

Your Very BEST friend in the whole wide world 🌎

Leave a comment