365-4 You can’t always get what you want

That’s right- As The Rolling Stones croon- You can’t always get what you want…but note that last part of the verse…if you try sometimes. you just might find, you get what you need.

Who else just heard Mick Jagger singing that in their head just now? 🙋🏻‍♀️

Aw man. That’s completely where it’s at. Not just right here-right now for me, but always.

Having needs met is way more important that wants. Small steps like saying to your significant other- No babe, You first! Goes a very long way to having your own needs met. And isn’t that why we are here? To serve others needs?

Today, I didn’t get all I wanted. Not even close. However, I did get all that I needed- with one exception. And I’m going to be alright with that in due time. IYKYK.

So back to you- considering what you need vs. what you ‘think’ you need vs. what you want- Did you get all you needed today? If so- hey that’s so great! And if not- then work on giving without expecting anything from others tomorrow and see how that works out for you.

When the dust settles and the day is coming to a close, I challenge you to ask yourself what did I do today for others? And did that fulfill you in ways you had not really thought about? Did you get what you needed? I sure hope so.

Tonight, My needs are met. I’m not hungry. I live in a safe house. I have family and friends who value me. And that’s all I need.

Needlessly yours,

Nadine Bodine

Your Very BEST friend in the whole wide world 🌎

Leave a comment